Well this week was a whirlwind of wilderness and weirdness.

1.) Pumpkin everything. I made pumpkin puree from my jack-o-lantern and ended up with about a gallon of pumpkin to use. So far, I’ve made roasted pumpkin seeds, pumpkin chili, a pumpkin pie, and a pumpkin cake. Since I’m running 4-5 miles every other day, I’m just pretending all this baking and eating will have no effect on my body. Anyway, the clear winner was the cake. Wow. I didn’t put any frosting on it, but instead covered the top with pomegranate seeds (they are in season). Try it out:

http://www.thenovicechefblog.com/2012/10/pumpkin-dream-cake/

2.) I read everyday here. I didn’t read at all this past summer… perhaps ONEGas (or more probably Graduate School) took too much out of me. Of course, I only could pack 2 suitcases for my overseas flight which left previous little room for books. I did bring a few, courtesy of Ms. Blankenship and Mr. Smiley but primarily, I’ve been reading on the Overdrive app which lets you check out books from your library from anywhere in the world (having fun isn’t hard when you got a library card! -ARTHUR). I’m currently 300 pages into “The Fellowship of the Ring.” While reading on an e-book can’t possibly compare to the times my Dad read LOTR out-loud to Jenny, Peter, Amanda, and I while we lounged in front of the fire, I’m still loving re-entering the story. I don’t know many times I’ve either read or watched these stories, but I’m not tired of them yet

A few favorite lines, this time around:

“That is a chapter of ancient history which it might be good to recall; for there was sorrow then too, and gathering dark, but great valour, and great deeds that were not wholly vain.” -Gandalf to Frodo on the value of the history of men and elves.

“I feel that as long as the Shire lies behind, safe and comfortable, I shall find wandering more bearable: I shall know that somewhere there is a firm foothold, even if my feet cannot stand there again”- Frodo on the Shire/Me on Arkansas

“There’s earth under his old feet, and clay on his fingers; wisdom in his bones, and both his eyes are open” -said by Tom Bombadil of Farmer Maggot.

And the link to the app: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/overdrive-library-ebooks-audiobooks/id366869252?mt=8

Kids on Books

3.) A comic for (you?) me: Conflict

And another

4.) I was listening to music while carving my pumpkin on Friday night in my office at school. One of my co-workers was watching and listening too. When this song came on, he said “wow, America sounds so sad.” So we kept listening and he says “Ok, now they are back to normal.” Oh the precious layers of understanding and misunderstanding!

Thats all for this week. I’m off to play tennis before the snow starts falling.

